Afterword

ThimphuTech was the first technology blog in Bhutan. We started writing it in 2009, just as broadband and mobile internet started to take off. (Although internet in Bhutan was launched in 1999, it was either super-slow or super-expensive, and was only used by a selected few).

In the blog, we wrote about technology and food, but also about plenty of other stuff. The blog became popular and influential in Bhutan. A companion bi-weekly column -- Ask Boaz -- was published for many years in the Kuensel, Bhutan's national newspaper. (The complete Kuensel columns are available as an ebook, Blogging with Dragons).

We stopped updating the blog when we left Bhutan in 2014, but the information within the posts can still prove useful, and thus we decided to keep it online.

We thank all our readers.
Tashi Delek,
Boaz & Galit.

Monday, May 6, 2013

Do Not Fall Into This Facebook Trap

Let's be clear about one thing: There is no way whatsoever to find out who viewed your Facebook profile. We've written about this before, but it's worth repeating. And Facebook makes this pretty unequivocal in their answer to "Can I know who’s looking at my timeline or how often it’s being viewed? Thus, If you see a post by a friend claiming otherwise, it was not added directly by your friend, but by malicious software that was installed on his computer.

The rogue post includes a link to a supposedly "Facebook extension". Clicking on the link and following the instructions will eventually install the virus on your computer. That's how the virus spreads. It's a pretty smart virus; it even tags friends in the post. Do yourself (and your computer) a favour and do not click on any link. If you see such a post, I recommend adding a comment to the post warning others (possibly with a link to this blog post); this may help your friend understand the error he made, and prevent future contamination.

The latest victim to be hit by this scam is Bhutan's first IT Park, Thimphu TechPark (no relation to this blog). Here is the post that was made by the virus on their behalf. The malicious link is the one inside the post that ends with .TK (a Turkish website). Although the claim is that if you install the software "You won't be disappointed", I promise you that you will.


Beware: this is a hoax.